I Met Palpatine - Reisverslag uit Amsterdam, Nederland van Eva Grinsven - WaarBenJij.nu I Met Palpatine - Reisverslag uit Amsterdam, Nederland van Eva Grinsven - WaarBenJij.nu

I Met Palpatine

Door: Eva

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Eva

28 Augustus 2016 | Nederland, Amsterdam

It was even harder to wake up this time, still worn down from the day before. But I was still very excited about the day. There were some problems with the crew. Not everyone who was suppose to show up, showed up. This meant that they had to rearrange the jobs. This meant I was told what my job was about 10 minutes before the people came in.

As ticketer I didn't do much in the beginning. I was in charge of keeping the queue in front of Ian McDiarmid giving autographs short and calm. He started half an hour later than starting time, so I still had time to think about what I had to do.

However, after the queue started to form, people were ignoring me and just walking around me. This resulted in me being replaced by someone else and I got the job of a runner.

Being a runner is more fun than it sounds. You don't actually have to physically run around. A runner is basically someone who replaces another crew member when they need a break. This means a runner basically has every job, which was an amazing experience.

My first job as a runner was being the stand in personal assistant of Steve Cardenas. He is such an amazing and sweet guy and it was such a great opportunity to be able to talk to him.

As runner I also had to get supplies and drinks in between replacing crew members who needed a break and answering questions of attendees who needed help. The first was sometimes stressful as I didn't know where anything was. Answering questions was stressful at first. I didn't know how to answer and switching from Dutch to English and not knowing which language the next person would speak was not helping either. It did help me with social skills. I had to talk to many people and I had to stay calm and polite for everyone, even if someone screamed at me. I managed to figure out the main questions everyone had and figured out the answer for them so I didn't have to stress if I would know the answer. 

As runner I was also the personal assistant of Keisha Castle-hughes, who was also very nice, and Ian McDiarmid. Being the assistant of Ian McDiarmid was very stressful as well. Not because of Ian McDiarmid himself, even though I'm a fan of him and him sitting next to me and talking to me was very cool, but because he suddenly came back from lunch 30 minutes earlier. Mind you, I'm only a stand in for the actual personal assistant and no one was planning for me to have to do something important. When Ian McDiarmid came back, people were forming a line to get an autograph from him. My job was to handle the money, making sure Ian McDiarmid was signing things correctly and that people were being respectful. This is suddenly a lot to handle. Still having to recover from the shock that the actual Ian McDiarmid was siting next to me, I had to calculate how much money everyone needed to give depending how many autographs they wanted and giving back the correct change. All of the sudden I ran out of fives. I couldn't give back the correct change and had to ask the costumer if they could pay me anything smaller. This was scary to me, since I didn't know if they would have anything smaller or what I would have to do if I ran out of change I needed to give. Luckily after a while people started giving me fives again and everything sorted itself out. It was cool to see that even if I'm in a stressful situation, things can still work out.

The rest of the day I had to either had to get something for guests or crew or answer questions from visitors. This wasn't very exciting but it was educational. I also had to speak some French because that was the language a visitor could speak and try to communicate with a deaf person without sign language ( which I now want to learn even more, because I felt so bad that I couldn't understand some of what he was trying to say)

At the end of the day we had to break everything down. This was very tiring and my feet hurt so much. After most of it was done, showmasters, the main crew, told us how this was an awesome first Comic Con and that we all were an amazing crew. That was really cool but most of all, I was happy to go home.

I had an amazing experience and would love to do it again. It was great to see what happened behind the scenes and I met amazing people. I would love to do it again, but maybe just one day because it was very tiring.
 



Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, Amsterdam

Eva

Actief sinds 15 Juni 2016
Verslag gelezen: 1119
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2500

Voorgaande reizen:

27 Augustus 2016 - 28 Augustus 2016

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: